Still Life No. 50

Watercolour on Hahnemühle Cezanne hot pressed paper, 36 x 48 cm (14.1″ x 18.9″)
stilllife50
One thought on “Still Life No. 50

  1. Teju Abiola

    Your colors are so vibrant! I love your use of color in your work.

    How do you get such a splendid range of values, especially the darks? Whenever I use watercolor I always end up in the midtone range, but that’s probably due to my lack of practice more than anything :-\ I also tend to muddy up the color when I mix; I guess I’m too used to mixing other painting media a certain way.

    If you don’t mind me asking, what kind of watercolor do you use? Like which brand, pans vs tube, fresh from the tube or re wet dried paint, or whether you make your own 🙂 What does your palette look like? What specific pigments do you use?

    I’ve been interested in the distinctive qualities of watercolor for years, but I mostly end up frustrated with my results and pick up other media instead. I read one of your posts that mentioned Charles Reid, and I’ll be sure to look him up when I get the chance!

    Sorry about all the questions! I actually discovered you about 4 or 5 years ago, but just found your work again randomly 😀

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

